On May 19, the KHL has awarded the trophies at the traditional Closing Ceremony. Here you have a roundup of the most significant awards and recipients.

Vsevolod Bobrov Award — to the team who scored more goals throughout the season. Metallurg lost the Gagarin Cup finals to CSKA, but scored a whopping 244 goals. Moreover, Magnitka and Avangard traded 51 goals in the most productive playoff series in the KHL era, when the Ilya Vorobyov’s men took down the Hawks 4-3 in the Eastern semifinals. Metallurg has already won this award in 2013-2014 and 2015-2016. Curiously enough, they also scored 244 ties in 2015-2016.

Top Goalscorer Award — Vityaz’s Niko Ojamaki had a tremendous KHL debut season, potting 29 goals, the most in the whole league. Ojamaki is the first Finn player to collect this award, other than the first Vityaz representative.

Top Scorer Award — for the third straight time, Dynamo Moscow’s Vadim Shipachyov won the scoring race, posting an impressive 67 (24+43) points for the Blue-and-Whites. While he’s still far from Sergei Mozyakin’s six titles, it’s the first time a single player catches three wins in a row for the Top Scorer award. With this year’s triumph, Shipachyov has caught up with Alexander Radulov at three trophies. It will be exciting to fare whether the forward will be able to make it four on a row with his new team — Shipachyov has recently joined Ak Bars Kazan. The forward also won the Golden Stick Award as the best player of the KHL regular season.

Top-scoring Defenseman — Traktor’s Nick Bailen had yet another strong season in Chelyabinsk, and won this award for the first time, which is quite surprisingly, considering the blueliner’s history in the KHL. The Traktor’s veteran has amassed 42 (6+36) points this year — his record to date in his career. In 2022-2023, Bailen will line up for his ninth season in the league, and the fifth wearing a Traktor Chelyabinsk jersey.

Best Goalie awardIvan Fedotov has deservedly been awarded with Best Goalie honors after leading CSKA to a seven-game win over Metallurg in the Gagarin Cup finals. The CSKA netminder had an excellent season, and also helped Team Russia returning with a silver medal at the 2022 Olympics in Beijing. Fedotov’s triumph has been CSKA’s second top goalie award after Ilya Sorokin was also awarded in 2015-2016.

Alexei Cherepanov award — this year is the second straight season that Avangard takes home this win; after Yegor Chinakhov won last season, this year Vladislav Gritsyuk proved to be the best despite strong seasons also from Dynamo’s Dmitry Rashevsky and SKA’s Marat Khusnutdinov. However, Gritsyuk was a strong feature for the Hawks all the season’s long and also had a significant role with Team Russia in Beijing.

Golden Helmet award — the post-season media All-Star team left little surprises. Ivan Fedotov was included as a goalie, with CSKA’s Nikita Nesterov and Metallurg’s captain Yegor Yakovlev. For Nesterov is the second appearance in this award, while it’s a first time for both Fedotov and Yakovlev. Forward, there’s also a return and two newcomers. Vadim Shipachyov made the first team last year, while SKA’s Andrei Kuzmenko and Metallurg’s Nikolai Goldobin earned a spot in the honored team for the first time in 2021-2022.

Best coachSergei Fedorov was at his first experience between the bench of a KHL club, and what a success it was. Not only did he lead CSKA to its second Gagarin Cup triumph, but he accomplished the feat while being down 3-1 in the hard-fought series with Metallurg. During the ceremony, he was quick to pay tribute to his colleagues.
“I’d like to thank all of our coaching staff who worked with me this year,” he said. “The guys did a huge amount of hard work and kept me on top of the job. Thanks also to the CSKA team. Step by step, shift by shift, game by game — guys, you were great! And to our fans, we heard you, we saw you and we felt your support in every arena in our country.”

Loyalty to Hockey — veteran goalie Alexander Yeryomenko announced his retirement at the end of the season — and the 42-year-old signed off with this award. “Today is the last day of my career,” he said. “You can judge for yourselves how successful it’s been — there are many good professionals here, idols of mine down the years, thank you all for your support. Thanks also to my family — my wife and kids, my parents, who introduced me to the game. Thanks to everyone who believed in me — and for those who didn’t believe in me, that pushed me to work harder, to do better in future. And thanks to Dynamo. I can’t imagine myself without this club — and I think that’s true forever.”

Playoffs MVP — one of the unsung heroes for CSKA in the latest few seasons was veteran Alexander Popov. But finally, the right moment arrived for the Angarsk native to receive an award, and he did it in style, winning the most coveted of them all — the prize for the playoffs’ top player. Popov scored five goals in CSKA’s playoffs run, but every one of them was a key one, not to talk about his assists — mostly given to linemates Maxim Sorkin and Andrei Svetlakov.

Iron Man Award — the prize to the player with the most games over the latest three season went to Avangard’s Pavel Dedunov. The 32-years-old forward helped Avangard winning the cup last year, and his playoffs stints with the Hawks helped him capturing the prize.

Related clubs

Avangard (Omsk) Avangard (Omsk)
Ak Bars (Kazan) Ak Bars (Kazan)
Vityaz (Moscow Region) Vityaz (Moscow Region)
Dynamo (Moscow) Dynamo (Moscow)
Metallurg (Magnitogorsk) Metallurg (Magnitogorsk)
SKA (Saint Petersburg) SKA (Saint Petersburg)
Traktor (Chelyabinsk) Traktor (Chelyabinsk)
CSKA (Moscow) CSKA (Moscow)
Прямая ссылка на материал