The Fan Poll for the 2022 event has started, and today we put together a list of the most-voted players so far. Let’s remember that this year, four teams representing Russia, Eurasia, North America, and Scandinavia will challenge contesting the Skill Show and a 3-on-3 tournament.

Dinamo Minsk’s young netminder Alexei Kolosov is the Eurasia (and overall) leader so far, with 2,879 votes, followed by Avangard’s Simon Hrubec (1,379). Another Belarusian player — Severstal’s Konstantin Shostak — is the third goalie in the fan poll with 701 votes.

Moving to the blue line, HC Sochi’s Janis Jaks leads the way with 1,666 votes, topping Traktor’s Nick Bailen (1,597) and Barys’ Darren Dietz (925).

Dinamo Minsk is well represented among forwards as well, with Ilya Usov leading with 2,466 votes. Barys’ Nikita Mikhailis is the only other player with more than 2,000 votes (2,042), with HC Sochi’s Nikita Feoktistov in third position at 1,524.

Team North America is likely to have Ed Pasquale guarding its net, with 2,495 votes accumulated so far and a significant gap over Kunlun’s Jeremy Smith (779 votes). The most-voted North American blueliner is SKA’s Mat Robinson, with 1,213 choices. However, Ak Bars’ Steven Kampfer is not too far, at 757. Barys’ Joe Morrow is in third place with 369 votes.

Among the forwards, the competition is fierce. Avangard’s Corban Knight is leading at 1,255, but Philippe Maillet of Metallurg follows at 998. Vityaz’s Daniel Audette closes the race at 764.

But where the competition is at its top is probably for the Team Russia’s starting goaltender position. Only a bunch of votes separate the best, with CSKA’s Ivan Fedotov (639), Amur’s Evgeny Alikin (564), and Ak Bars’ Timur Bilyalov (469) fighting for a spot.

On the blueline, Dynamo Moscow’s Vyacheslav Voynov leads the voting, with 1,108 choices. CSKA’s Nikita Nesterov follows with a big gap — 411 votes. In the third position, Salavat Yulaev’s captain Grigory Panin earned 377 preferences.

The most-voted Russian forward is another Blue-and-White player, Vadim Shipachyov, with 1,726 votes. Following Dynamo’s captain is Traktor’s Nikita Tertyshny, with 641. SKA’s Nikita Gusev is in the third position with 480 choices.

Scandinavia is the remaining team. Not surprisingly, Salavat Yulaev’s Juha Metsola is the fan-favorite with 1,078 votes. Juho Olkinuora of Metallurg earned 796 choices, with SKA’s Lars Johansson closing the top three with 530 preferences.

Avangard’s Oliwer Kaski leads on the blueline with 963 votes, followed by SKA’s Mikko Lehtonen (652) and another Salavat Yulaev’s player — Philip Larsen (483).

Among forwards, Salavat Yulaev has another leader in Teemu Hartikainen, with 1,447 choices, followed by the league’s top sniper Niko Ojamaki of Vityaz (1,275), and Traktor’s Teemu Pulkkinen (977).

Fans can express their preferences up to Nov 21 to vote a goalie, a defenseman, and two forwards for each team. Then, the press representatives will vote their players of choice, and the rosters will be completed by the League. The final roster will be announced a month to the 2002 Fonbet KHL All-Star Week, on Dec 14.

After this three-stage process, 44 players will be picked to play, and the best player at the 2022 JHL Challenge Cup will be automatically added to the Russian squad.

Alessandro Seren Rosso Alessandro Seren Rosso
KHL press office KHL press office
exclusive for
Прямая ссылка на материал