Andy Potts Andy Potts
KHL press office KHL press office
exclusive for announces the nominees for the Alexei Cherepanov prize for the best rookie of the 2020-2021 season.

The Cherepanov prizewinner is chosen by a poll among KHL coaches. Followed that survey, we can reveal the three leading candidates for the award: Zakhar Bardakov of Vityaz, Maxim Sorkin of CSKA and Yegor Chinakhov of Avangard.

Zakhar Bardakov (Vityaz)

44 games, 11 (8+3) points

Bardakov was one of the stars of the Russian Junior team at the last World Championship. After that he started getting significantly more game time in the KHL and went on a five-game scoring streak that brought him six goals.

Maxim Sorkin (CSKA) 

68 games, 14 (6+8) points

Sorkin made his KHL debut in 2019-2020, playing 18 games. But last season saw him emerge as a key player for CSKA and his goal in game six of the Western Conference Final against SKA sent the Army Men into the Gagarin Cup final.

Yegor Chinakhov (Avangard) 

53 games, 24 (15+9) points

Chinakhov was twice chosen of rookie of the month in the 2020-2021 season, as well as being the best rookie in the second round of the playoffs. He was the leading scorer among U20 players.

The previous winners of this award were Ilya Proskuryakov, Anatoly Nikontsev, Pavel Zdunov, Dmitry Lugin, Vlaery Nichushkin, Andrei Vasilevsky, Maxim Mamin, Artyom Alyayev, Vladimir Tkachyov, Vitaly Kravtsov, Ilya Konovalov and Artyom Galimov.

The KHL’s Closing Ceremony will take place on June 8, 2021.

Andy Potts Andy Potts
KHL press office KHL press office
exclusive for

Related clubs

Avangard (Omsk) Avangard (Omsk)
Vityaz (Moscow Region) Vityaz (Moscow Region)
CSKA (Moscow) CSKA (Moscow)
Прямая ссылка на материал