The KHL Refereeing Department has examined a controversial incidentfrom Tuesday's thriller in Kazan between Ak Bars and CSKA Moscow, which resulted in the home side claiming a 6-4 victory.

In the 44th minute, and with the game delicately poised at 5-4 in favor of the home side, CSKA's Kirill Kaprizov appeared to have scored a dramatic leveler, but the referee, after viewing video footage of the episode, ruled a no-goal because he believed a player had struck the puck while it was at a height above the level of the crossbar. 

Alexei Anisimov of the Refereeing Department expplains: "While it is illegal to score from a shot taken with the puck higher than the crossbar, and the replay shows that the stick did indeed make contact with the puck at a point around shoulder-height, the play did not directly lead to the goal, and therefore the referee should have allowed Kaprizov's goal to stand."

Richard Delacy,
exclusive for khl.ru

Related clubs

Ak Bars (Kazan) Ak Bars (Kazan)
CSKA (Moscow) CSKA (Moscow)

Share