Sixth sense. Season closing ceremony

28 May 2014, 23:27

On the 28th of May the KHL staged the Closing Ceremony for 2013-14 season. During this celebration the heroes of the sixth Kontinental Hockey League season were presented with awards covering 24 categories.

The Vsevolod Bobrov prize for the highest scoring team in the championship was won by Metallurg Magnitogorsk, whose players scored 227 goals.

Trophies for the League’s top sniper and top scorer, like a year ago, both went to Magnitka forward Sergei Mozyakin, whose account for regular championship stood at 34 goals and 73 points.

Another prize going Mozyakin’s way was the “Golden Stick” trophy, which goes to the man voted the most valuable player in the regular championship.

The award for the highest scoring defenseman of the season went to Kirill Koltsov from Salavat Yulaev, who notched 35 points (11+24).

The “Sekunda” (Split Second) prize, for scoring the earliest and latest goals in a KHL game, was won by Ak Bars forward Alexei Tereshchenko, with a goal timed at 0:12 and Donbass defenseman Andrei Konev, who scored with the clock showing the KHL record 126:14.

The award for “Best plus-minus” during regular championship was won by Metallurg Magnitogorsk forward Jan Kovar with new KHL record, +46.

The “Iron Man” award, given to the player with the most championship games over the last three seasons, went to Donbass forward Maxim Yakutsenya, who had 213 outings.

The “Best Troika” award, for the highest-scoring line in the regular championship, was won by Metallurg Magnitogorsk attacking line of Sergei Mozyakin - Jan Kovar - Danis Zaripov, who together amassed 71 goals.

The Alexei Cherepanov prize for the best rookie of the season was won by Salavat Yulaev goaltender Andrei Vasilevsky. He was also presented with the “Best Save” trophy which was awarded for the first time based on fans’ vote via KHL official website.

The “Gentleman On Ice” award, which is handed to one defenseman and one attacker, and rewards players who combine sporting excellence with impeccable behavior, was won by Dinamo Riga defenseman Mat Robinson (+17 and 14 penalty minutes) and Sergei Mozyakin (106 points and 16 penalty minutes).

The award for best goaltender of the season went to Vasily Koshechkin of Metallurg Magnitogorsk.

The trophy For Dedication To Hockey goes to the greatest hockey veteran to recognize his valuable contribution to his team’s success, and this year it was awarded to Dinamo Minsk forward Alexei Kalyuzhny.

The “Golden Helmet” prize, which goes to each of the six players selected for the All-Star team of the season, was this year won by goaltender Curtis Sanford (Lokomotiv), defensemen Ilya Gorokhov (Lokomotiv) and Ondrej Nemec (Lev) and forwards Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg Magnitogorsk), Danis Zaripov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk) and Justin Azevedo (Lev).

The award for the best coach of the season for the second year in a row went to Metallurg Magnitogorsk boss Mike Keenan.

Six coaches received the Anatoly Tarasov award “Faith in Youth” for giving opportunities to promising new generation players. The nomination was introduced this year, and the first winners were Mike Keenan, Vladimir Yurzinov, Jr. (Salavat Yulaev), Dmitry Kvartalnov (Sibir), Pyotr Vorobyov and his successor in Lokomotiv, Dave King, as well as Evgeny Kornoukhov (Avangard).

The Valentin Sych award, given to the hockey club chief who has shown the best leadership of his club during the season, goes this year to Metallurg Magnitogorsk vice-president Gennady Velichkin.

The Vladimir Piskunov award for the best club administrator was won by Boris Ryb of Barys.

The Andrei Zimin award for the best team doctor went to Mikhail Novikov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk).

The Andrei Starovoitov award, the Golden Whistle, presented to the best referee of the season, was won for the second successive year by Eduard Odins of Riga.

The Dmitry Ryzhkov award for journalist’s contribution to extensive coverage of the championship went to radio presenter Vladimir Dekhtyarev from Sport FM.

The title of Best TV Broadcaster goes to TV Kupol (Saint Petersburg).

The award for the best TV commentator of the season went to Dmitry Fedorov, of the KHL-TV channel.

Also the most successful teams were presented with trophies won during the season: Kontinental Cup went to regular championship winner Dynamo Moscow while Metallurg Magnitogorsk and Lev Prague received East and West Conference winners’ trophies.

Прямая ссылка на материал