Andy Potts Andy Potts
exclusive for introduces the nominees for this year’s Golden Stick award, presented to the MVP for the KHL regular season.

The Golden Stick is awarded on the basis of votes from the coaching staff of all the teams that played in the KHL this season. Following the survey, three names emerged as the prime contenders: Damir Zhafyarov (Torpedo), Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev) and Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo Moscow)

Damir Zhafyarov (Torpedo)

58 games, 61 (21+40) points, +6

In the 2020-2021 season, Zhafyarov set a new club scoring record, beating Mikhail Varnakov Sr’s 38-year-old mark. Zhafyarov finished as the third leading scorer in the regular season.

Teemu Hartikainen (Salavat Yulaev) 

53 games, 64 (28+36) points, +17

Hartikainen set new goal and point scoring records for KHL players from Finland. He was also the first man to score four in a game four Salavat Yulaev.

Vadim Shipachyov (Dynamo Moscow) 

57 games, 67 (20+47) points, +28

Shipachyov led the league in scoring for the second year in a row and, along the way, secured his status as Dynamo’s top scorer in the KHL. In addition, he topped 700 points in his KHL career and moved to 500 assists — in both counts second only to Sergei Mozyakin.

Previous winners of this award include Аlexander Radulov, Sergei Mozyakin (four times each), Danis Zaripov, Nikita Gusev and Dmitrij Jaskin.

The winner will be announced at the KHL closing ceremony on June 8, 2021.

Andy Potts Andy Potts
exclusive for

Related clubs

Dynamo (Moscow) Dynamo (Moscow)
Salavat Yulaev (Ufa) Salavat Yulaev (Ufa)
Torpedo (Nizhny Novgorod) Torpedo (Nizhny Novgorod)
Прямая ссылка на материал