Regular Season Format Unveiled

9 July 2014, 01:25

The Kontinental Hockey League has determined the competition structure for the VII KHL Championship. A total of 28 teams will be split into two conferences and four divisions, as shown below:


Bobrov Division 
1. Atlant 
2. Dinamo Minsk 
3. Dinamo Riga 
4. Jokerit 
5. Medvescak 
6. SKA 
7. Slovan

Tarasov Division 
1. CSKA 
2. Dynamo Moscow 
3. Lokomotiv 
4. Severstal 
5. HC Sochi 
6. Torpedo 
7. Vityaz


Kharlamov Division 
1. Ak Bars 
2. Avtomobilist 
3. Lada 
4. Metallurg Magnitogorsk 
5. Neftekhimik 
6. Traktor 
7. Ugra

Chernyshev Division 
1. Admiral 
2. Amur 
3. Avangard 
4. Barys 
5. Metallurg Novokuznetsk 
6. Salavat Yulaev 
7. Sibir

According to the new format, subject to final approval by the League management, each team is to play a total of 60 games in the regular season, of which 52 will be as follows: 24 games against the other teams in their division (two at home and two on the road against each opponent), 14 games (seven home games, seven road games) against the teams in the other division in their conference, and 14 more against teams from the other conference (comprising seven home games versus teams from one division and seven road games against teams from the other).

Of the 8 remaining games, four will be against teams in their own conference (two at home, two on the road) and four against opposition from the other conference (again, two at home and two on the road).

When determining the opponents and venues for these additional 8 games, the League will take into account all practical considerations, including the geographical locations and the availability of the arenas.

For an example of the format, Gagarin Cup holder Metallurg Magnitogorsk will have four games (two at home, two on the road) against each of the other six teams in the Kharlamov Division, and two games (one at home, one on the road) against the other seven teams in the Eastern Conference, namely those in the Chernyshev Division. As for Western Conference opponents, Magnitka will play seven home games, one against each team from the Bobrov Division, and will travel westwards for seven games as guests of each team in the Tarasov Division.

Of the additional eight games, four (two at home, two on the road) are against fellow Eastern Conference teams and the remaining four (two at home, two on the road) against teams from the West. The latter quartet of games comprises Dynamo Moscow’s visit to Magnitogorsk for the Opening Cup, another home game against CSKA, an encounter in St Petersburg against SKA and a trip to Helsinki to face Jokerit.

As soon as the format has received final approval, the League will publish the complete calendar of games for the VII KHL Championship.

Dynamo to play Magnitka in Opening Cup 
The first game of the VII Kontinental Hockey League season, the Opening Cup, will be contested by the current Gagarin Cup holder, Metallurg Magnitogorsk, and Dynamo Moscow, the winner of the 2013-14 Continental Cup (regular season champion).
Прямая ссылка на материал