In the 10th minute of overtime of Game 1 of the Western Conference final series between SKA Saint Petersburg and Dynamo Moscow an apparent goal by Petersburg forward Tony Martensson was referred to the video goal judge.
The video footage below clearly shows the SKA man’s right knee moving toward the puck, then making contact with the puck and directing it into the net. The replay also demonstrates that the player’s stick made no contact with the puck.
Therefore, in accordance with the laws of the game, the referee was correct to disallow the goal.
What the rules say:
The relevant rule is 471.1, which states that no goal shall be allowed if an attacking player deliberately kicks, throws or bats with the hands, or otherwise directs the puck by any means other than his stick into the goal net, regardless of whether the puck is further deflected by any player, goalkeeper or official.