65 years of CSKA, SKA and Spartak

22 December 2011, 13:18

Today is the 65th anniversary of the founding of two of the most decorated clubs in the history of Russian hockey, CSKA and Spartak. It is impossible even to imagine the story of the nation’s hockey without these two Muscovite collectives, both founder members of that first ever national championship which began on December 22nd 1946. The Army Men were USSR champions on no fewer than 32 occasions, won the European Cup 20 times and the USSR Cup 12 times. Spartak won the USSR championship four times and the USSR Cup twice. Over the decades the rosters of these clubs have boasted an abundance of stars of world hockey, multiple gold medal winners at Olympic, world and European championships, whose names are known to all who follow our wonderful game.

Also, in Saint Petersburg SKA - one of Russia’s oldest clubs, whose honors include two bronzes in the USSR championships and many triumphs and titles in international tournaments - is celebrating its 65th anniversary. Back in 1946 the Army team from Northern capital was called Leningrad’s Officers’ Club. Current name, SKA, was adopted in 1959.

SKA gave the hockey world Olympic champions and world championship winners like Alexei Kasatonov, Alexei Gusarov and Nikolai Drozdetsky, plus many more illustrious players.

The Kontinental Hockey League congratulates CSKA, Spartak and SKA on their 65-year jubilee and wishes these clubs many more years of prosperity, success and triumph.

Прямая ссылка на материал