All Star Game line-ups

15 January 2010, 23:00

At midday on January 15th, after a month and a half of voting, we reached the conclusion of the supporters’ vote to choose the starting line-ups of Team Yashin and Team Jagr, for the Kontinental Hockey League All-Stars Game, taking place in Minsk on January 30th.

A tense contest between supporters of various teams and fans of individual stars reached its apogee after the New Year holiday, with voting activity peaking as we entered the home stretch. The final outcome of the vote stayed in doubt right until the final day, but in the end supporters of 12 players and 9 teams had good cause for celebration - their favorites will be first out onto the ice in the second KHL All-Stars Game in history.

The absolute winner of the fans’ vote was last season’s best defenseman, Barys captain Kevin Dallman, who received 114,957 votes. A very close second behind the Canadian star was the man who leads the defensive line at Dinamo Riga, Sandis Ozolins, for whom 113,167 votes were cast. These two players will be the leading defensive pair for Team Jagr.

The winner of the vote for players to represent Team Yashin is the captain of Ak Bars Kazan and of the Russian national side, the inimitable Alexei Morozov, who polled 105,433 votes. Second place was taken by one of the top scorers in the KHL championship, Salavat Yulaev’s highly expressive attacker Alexander Radulov, with 104,004 votes.


Team Yashin
Goaltender: Georgy Gelashvili (Lokomotiv) - 55 048 votes.
Defense: Sergei Zubov (SKA) - 103 136, Ilya Nikulin (Ak Bars) - 101 261.
Forwards: Alexei Morozov (Ak Bars) - 105 433, Alexander Radulov (Salavat Yulaev) - 104 004, Maxim Sushinsky (SKA) - 99 344.

Team Jagr
Goaltender: Karri Ramo (Avangard) - 104 649 votes.
Defense: Kevin Dallman (Barys) - 114 957, Sandis Ozolins (Dinamo Riga) - 113 167.
Forwards: Marcel Hossa (Dinamo Riga) - 112 681, Mattias Weinhandl (Dynamo Moscow) - 105 000, Branko Radivojevic (Spartak) - 98 949.

Further selection of participants for the KHL All-Stars Game 2010 continues with the journalists’ ballot. From January 16th to 22nd they will choose the second line and the second goaltender for Team Yashin and Team Jagr.

Прямая ссылка на материал